Friday, 15 December, 2017

"Deleted WhatsApp Messages" Can Still Be Read, Here's How It Works

WhatsApp Whats App deleted messages Whats App messages Whats App app Delete for Everyone feature BEWARE Deleted Whats App messages can still be read Here's how
Cecilia Poole | 17 November, 2017, 01:16

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will now be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats.

When the feature was announced some said they would simply take screenshots of their conversations if there are messages they fear could be revoked. Should you go read messages that somebody obviously doesn't want you to read? Despite that shortcoming, it is one method to thwart the attempts of those who would delete messages.

A Spanish blog Android Jefe has figured out a way that lets you check out a WhatsApp message that someone has sent you but deleted before you could read it. Lastly, if does not work on the Android version older than Nougat.

The report suggests that anyone can read the deleted message sent to them on WhatsApp using any third-party app. You have to be running Android 6.0 or higher.

So while users may not be able to see the message within WhatsApp after it is deleted, they can still see it in the notification log - which can be accessed in two ways.

The report further adds that if users have installed Nova Launcher than there is no need to download a third-party app to access the deleted messages. Once downloaded, grant it the permissions it needs and you should be good to go.

Long press on home screen to launch your Widgets.

.

'What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system.

Tap "Delete for everyone" and the message will disappear. We tried it ourselves here at Techzim and it works. It can be done just by entering the notification history to check the message that has been deleted by the sender using "Delete For Everyone". The app does save the deleted WhatsApp messages in its notification log, however, in case you restart your device - you may lose track of these messages.

Notification History is a hidden feature that first got added in Android 4.3. In order words, if your friend had sent you a message which consists of more than 100 characters - well, you may not able to read the whole message and may get access only to the first chunck of it. Jonathan Zdziarski, iOS expert, a year ago has claimed that WhatsApp saved chat logs on the device despite it being archived or deleted. It is also noteworthy that you will only be able to retrieve the deleted text messages and no media files - be it images, videos or any other.

There has to have been a notification generated. Another limitation is that you can only retrieve messages that have already been seen or interacted with.

Recommended

Samsung to launch 3 new Galaxy S9 devices including an S9 mini Samsung to launch 3 new Galaxy S9 devices including an S9 mini The last mini model the Korean tech giant launched was the Samsung Galaxy S5 Mini, which arrived in July 2014. The 2018 version of the Samsung Galaxy A7 is expected to be equipped with an Infinity display of 6 inches.

Sen. Al Franken Accused of Kissing, Groping Woman Without Consent Sen. Al Franken Accused of Kissing, Groping Woman Without Consent Someone photographed Franken groping her during the flight, and she saw the image while looking through pictures of the trip. You don't need to delve much to know that this type of behavior does not distinguish class, race or political party .

'A Quiet Place' Teaser: John Krasinski-Emily Blunt Chiller Promises Screams 'A Quiet Place' Teaser: John Krasinski-Emily Blunt Chiller Promises Screams The lack of sound used in the film shows just how important staying quiet is to the family. The tagline reads, "Listen closely, move carefully, and never make a sound".