Thursday, 14 December, 2017

Vatican Says Bread for Holy Communion Cannot Be Gluten

Getty Images Getty Images
Sammy Stanley | 11 July, 2017, 00:47

The Cardinal wrote that the ruling was needed as a result of Eucharistic bread now being bought from supermarkets and "even over the Internet", rather than only being made by people in the religious community.

According to those norms, "the bread used in the Holy Sacrifice of the Eucharist must be unleavened, of only wheat and made recently, so that there is no danger of it being corrupted".

It can be made from genetically modified organisms, he added. It is a grave abuse to introduce other substances, such as fruit or sugar or honey, into the bread for confecting the Eucharist ... As a result, " The hosts that were totally deprived of gluten is a material that is invalid for the celebration of the Eucharist ".

"The confusion can be great when these "breads" are advertised as gluten-free alongside what are described as gluten-free but are in fact low-gluten altar breads", the Catholic Church in England and Wales said. Wine used must also be "natural, from the fruit of the grape, pure and incorrupt, not mixed with other substances". However, it seems that the Vatican has drawn a line when it comes to celebrating the Eucharist. It has multiple past statements to reference, which allow for low-gluten wheat bread as well as mustum, a type of grape juice for those who can not consume alcohol.

The 2003 letter also said bishops are allowed "to give permission for an individual priest or layperson to use low-gluten hosts or mustum for the celebration of the Eucharist".

The circular letter issued to Bishops specifically discussed the bread and wine used for the Eucharist.

Sound Off! CatholicCulture.org supporters weigh in. They were also responsible with producing the wine for the same ritual.

The U.S. bishops' Committee on Divine Worship has said Catholics who can not receive Communion wafers at all, even under the species of low-gluten hosts, "may receive Holy Communion under the species of wine only".

Over the past decade, demand has grown for gluten-free products. Since Holy Communion is for Christians an act of remembrance of Jesus' self-sacrifice, offering a gluten-free option of Jesus' body could seem disrespectful.

In the Vatican's defence, Christians believe the bread and wine you receive at Holy Communion undergoes something called 'Transubstantiation'.

Recommended

Turkey braces for grand finale of daring 'Justice March' Turkey braces for grand finale of daring 'Justice March' She asked for her name to be withheld, for fear that she could lose her job for publicly criticizing the government. Some 15,000 police have been deployed, the local broadcaster reported , citing the governor of Istanbul .

Service Changes For NJ TRANSIT Riders As Penn Station Repairs Begin Service Changes For NJ TRANSIT Riders As Penn Station Repairs Begin CBS2's Ali Bauman boarded a train in Summit at 7:26 a.m. and arrived in Hoboken about an hour later without any major problems. The repairs will focus on tracks and switches in the western portion of the station known at the "A Interlocking".

Amarnath pilgrims killed in terror attack in J&K's Anantnag Amarnath pilgrims killed in terror attack in J&K's Anantnag Amarnath Yatra was resumed on Sunday after a day-long suspension over apprehensions of a law-and-order situation in Kashmir. Former CM Omar Abdullah said on Twitter, "The one thing we had all feared this year during the yatra".